Friday January 27 Supporters

As long as Moses kept his hands raised up, Israel had the better of the fight, but when he let his hands rest, Amalek had the better of the fight. Moses’ hands, however, grew tired; so they took a rock and put it under him and he sat on it. Meanwhile Aaron and Hur supported his hands, one on one side and one on the other, so that his hands remained steady until sunset. Exodus 17:11-12

The Lord said to Moses, “Write this on a scroll as something to be remembered!”  Exodus 17:14 God wanted to make sure that Moses and the people knew that NO ONE can or should ever think that they can do it alone.   The whole of Israel would have died at the hands of the Amalekites that day had it not been for the support of Aaron and Hur.  They were unseen heroes except for the fact that God told Moses to tell the story and write it down for posterity.

This kind of lesson is being taught to me every day.  I am so grateful for each person who lifts me up with their prayers, with their smiles and words of encouragement, with their willingness to be involved and support a cause that I love or a friend in need.  I hate to admit that I need help… I struggle often with confessing that I cannot do it alone.  It is a character flaw that I try to overcome because I have learned first-hand how much I hate it when people do not let me help them.  It is so hard standing on the sidelines when someone I love is hurting or in trouble and I realize now that they feel the same way when they watch me struggling.

God asks me to depend on Him.  He sends supporters to each of us just like He did for Moses and the Israelites that day in order to win the battle.  If Moses had been stubborn and refused the assistance, the nation would have been obliterated.  Not too many situations are that dire in my life and in the lives of my friends BUT why risk it.  Pride cometh before the fall.

Lord, help me to accept the loving support that You send to me.  Let me be support for those You place in my life to lift them up and give them what they need to triumph today.  The help may only be for a brief moment in time but may change the course of history. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

