Sunday January 22, 2017 Agreement

I urge you, brothers, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree in what you say, and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be united in the same mind and in the same purpose. 1 Corinthians 1:10

Bringing together any group of people and expecting agreement and cohesion is difficult at best.  I really attempt lately to be a connector and bridge between people and that was illustrated in a profound way to me yesterday.  I hosted a Board Retreat for one of my favorite non-profits, Women’s Executive Council.  The wonderful facilitator had the attendees take the DISC assessment as part of the day.  I have used this tool in the past and expected my results to be similar to all the other times.  It was not.  I moved to a S which in DISC is a Stabilizer instead of a D which is Director or an I which is Influencer.  It surprised me and then I thought about it while I was praying at Mass last night when this verse was read.  Leading any group, but especially a group of women requires being a conciliatory force rather than someone who pushes an agenda.

Agreement on the purpose may be easy to achieve, but unity of mind is often impossible unless each assumes the role of Stabilizer.  My mother used to call it herding cats when she talked about the women’s groups that she was a part of.  Everyone has very different opinions and personalities and to get all the players to work and play nicely in the sandbox takes a gargantuan effort by all concerned.  Especially a group of executives… all leaders in their respective fields: Healthcare, Attorney, President of a University, Banker, Financial Planner, Engineering, Non-Profits.  So we understand the issues and want to solve the problems but each comes at it with a different mindset.

I wish I had the strength and wisdom to make the way straight and easy.  St Paul, became a Stabilizer too when leading his churches to lay aside their differences and put on a new life.  There was never complete unity but his letters help people even two thousand years later to cope with the differences that could make working together impossible.  There is a strength that gives inner peace and helps me to accept other ideas and embrace that there may be more than one way to get the job done.

Lord. Thank you for Paul’s example of conciliatory loving.  He united strangers to follow You and teaches me today that agreement and working together is indeed much better than being unaccepting or judgmental.  There is always a way to accomplish the goal once the goal has been agreed upon.  We will all arrive there together if we are willing to agree to the unity of mind that comes from You.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

