Saturday January 14, 2017 Afraid

He said to His disciples. “Why are you so afraid?  Do you still have no faith?”

They were terrified and asked each other, “Who is this?  Even the wind and the waves obey Him!”  Mark 4:40-41

The scene is the Sea of Galilee and a boat filled with experienced fishermen are so frightened by the terrible squall that they wake Jesus and exclaimed to Him… “Teacher, don’t You care if we drown?”   I am certain that I have screamed at God with those or similar words…  Lord, don’t You care that I am drowning in debt?  God, can’t You see I am overwhelmed by depression?  Father, can’t You see I am engulfed in loneliness?  Being afraid and not trusting that God is large and in charge has made me ask Him for His aid.

Mark’s Gospel tells of four miracles to establish the proof of Jesus divinity.  In this instance, his first miracle, I learn in a profound way that Jesus is human, he is exhausted and soundly sleeping in the back of the boat and that He is divine because the storm instantly obeys Him.  This lesson is crucial to all believers and shows me that my fears are being addressed even when I am impatiently waiting.  The interesting thing is that Jesus allowed the storm to be so severe as to frighten these men.  If He had not, they would not have ever asked the question, “WHO is this?”

God allows me to be in my own frightening situations so I know that I am not in control.  If I lived inside a perfect bubble, would I ever reach out and ask Jesus for help?  Probably NOT!  I would never hear God utter, Be Still as He deals with my problems.  I need GOD!  I am constantly reminded of how much, when I see the limits of my own ability.  I can’t keep people I love from being sick or dying.  I can’t change the wind or the weather.  I can’t make the sun rise.  I have asked who is this… and believe that Jesus is the Son of God, who calms my fears.

Lord help me each day as the winds blow and the world frightens me to turn to You, my solace and refuge.  I know You are the Son of God sent to call sinners to repentance.  Help me to seek you with a contrite heart.  NOT because I am afraid but because I know You are my Savior!

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

