Friday January 6, 2017 Kings

They went their way; and the star, which they had seen in the east, went on before them until it came and stood over the place where the Child was.  When they saw the star, they rejoiced exceedingly with great joy.  After coming into the house they saw the Child with Mary His mother; and they fell to the ground and worshiped Him.  Matthew 2:9-11

I have like most people put the Three Wise Men at the Manger.  Today I read this passage and noticed that Matthew says the sages came to the HOUSE!  It always bothered me that Herod killed the baby boys aged two and under instead of just the newborns but today the light dawned in my head.  The Kings arrived on the scene quite a bit after the birth.  Mary and Joseph stayed in Bethlehem and lived in a house.  The shepherds were long gone and the dust had settled as it were… No angels pointing the way.  The Holy Family had already visited Anna in the temple and settled into a routine.  Jesus I am sure was a normal baby who they fed, changed and taught.  Then the Kings show up and remind Mary and Joseph once again that this child was born for greatness.

This reminds me that as I put away my Christmas décor storing each ornament and decoration that Jesus birth can and should be celebrated each day.  Christmas and the beautiful stories surrounding Jesus birth are not only for December 25.  Each day, Jesus  deserves a celebration on the magnitude of Christmas.  My lack of attention does not diminish His commanding presence.  The WISE are indeed  those who fear God and worship Him.  Today, I am reminded that Jesus deserves my focus every day.  Those seekers devoted months and maybe years traveling to worship HIM.  Today, I can adore Him in any church in any town but seldom do I stop to give a thought.

Lord, Help me to be aware and focused so that I can be like the Wise Men, rejoicing that YOU are born and lived here on earth.  I humbly ask You into my heart to be with me there always and forever. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Friday January 6, 2017 Kings”

  1. Rose Govanus Says:

    Thank you sharing & enlightening me about the continuing story of Christmas. Also reminding me to continue the spirit of Christmas & Jesus all year round. Have a blessed day & Peace be with You.


Leave a Reply

