Monday January 2, 2016 Thankful

In every single thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.                1 Thessalonians 5:18

It is not easy when things are difficult in my life to hear this verse.  How can God expect me to give thanks when I lost my job, got a ticket, dinner flopped, I am sick or lost my best friend!  What I have come to realize is that the thankfulness that Paul is demanding here is not for the circumstances nor is it saying I should FEEL thankful but says GIVE thanks.  There is always so much for which to give thanks!  When I look in the mirror at my graying head or sagging muscles… I read the scripture An old woman’s grandchildren are her crowning glory.  Proverbs 17:6 When I face despair or feel lost I read The Lord said “I have seen the misery of my people… So I have come down to rescue them.”  Exodus 3:7-8 God never said this life would be peachy!  But said that I would not be alone for the ride.

As I begin yet another trip around the sun, I am asking what God wishes for me to do for Him this year.  I know that I want to be a better wife, mother, friend, sister, and a more productive person, more focused on what really matters.  I know I will fail at much and even though I embrace my mistakes as opportunities to learn… I know I will be disappointed in myself and the circumstances.  What I believe that God is calling me to be over all is more grateful.

He has provided everything I need.  I must recognize and acknowledge that especially when I am hurting or feeling lost.  I look forward to the opportunities this year will present.  I am excited about the trips that we have planned, the celebrations of marriage and graduations that will bring family and friends together, the new opportunities to grow and even the lessons that I will learn through failure.  God reminds me always Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.  Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is-His good, pleasing and perfect will.  Romans 12:2

Father, I really am grateful for all that You have done and are doing in my life.  I know that even when the road is hard, You are by my side.  Help me to always see GOOD in my life and GIVE thanks even when my heart is breaking.  You are such a gracious and gentle God

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

