Christmas Day 2016, Word

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  John 1:1

For a child is born to us, a son is given us; upon His shoulder dominion rests.  They name him Wonder Counselor, God-Hero, Father-Forever, Prince of Peace.  Isaiah 9:5

They say a picture is worth a thousand words and maybe that is true.  When I see a picture of Jesus, the Child in the manger, it definitely conjures many words for me and has inspired countless words in Scripture and in many pious works.  Isaiah saw Jesus through prophetic visions and wrote the beautiful names that we repeat centuries later to describe the newborn King.  How blessed I am to have words, pictures, music to help me create this holy morning the essence of Christ born to save me.

I love to remember Christmas’s past with my family and those I have adopted as family.  “Orphan” holiday meals are a blessed opportunity to open my home to others who have no family or who cannot get home for the holidays.  I too have been the recipient of blessed hospitality and invited to break bread on holidays with others  who embraced me like family.  The Word was God and inspires people everywhere to welcome strangers and make peace felt where there was pain.  Loneliness and despair are so common and become acute for many during the holidays.  Jesus came to bring light and peace and when opportunities to be present, really there for another human being is putting Christ in Christmas for sure.

Jesus is the Word made flesh and I believe He asks each of His followers to be an extension of Him, here on earth…  The Holy Spirit with skin on! A hug of welcome, an offer of love through a smile and a meal cannot be misconstrued.  A game of cards after the dinner table is cleared to share laughter and conversation is a gift as well.

The Word was God.  Jesus is the reason for the season of Christmas.  May each of us truly embrace the childlike today and laugh with abandon at the simple pleasures of a meal shared, a gift given and a gift received.  He is the gift given that is always the right size, the right color and has all the batteries.

Dearest Father, I am so grateful for the gift of Your Son.  Help me to appreciate this gift and share it with everyone I meet.   

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

