Thursday December 22, 2016 “Merry Christmas”

But in your hearts revere Christ as Lord.  Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have.  But do this with gentleness and respect.  1 Peter 3:15

There has been a great deal of controversy over the past few years about wishing people “Merry Christmas.” WE who are Christians and celebrate one of our most treasured holy days embrace the wishing of Merry Christmas to everyone with no disrespect for others who do not revere Christ as Lord.  It is a national holiday after all.  So when Trump came out with it is okay to say “Merry Christmas” a lot of people breathed a sigh of relief… not having to be Politically Correct.  J

I really believe that a sincere smile and eyes glowing with joy go a long way to stem any breach in customs.  Saying Happy Holidays to anyone is a safer bet but does not give me an opportunity to share the hope I was given 2000 years ago when a tiny baby boy was born in a cave where angels and shepherds came to worship Him.  Isn’t it marvelous that wise men still seek Him?  Being in the last few days of Advent, the time of preparation to celebrate the Lord as a baby… a gift that would save all mankind is something that I love to share.  Jesus is the REASON for the SEASON.  Not shopping, lights, tinsel, or baking.  God gave me the best gift EVER and I should be prepared to answer why I am hopeful in a desperate world.  Merry Christmas to all and to all a Good Night!

Lord help me to always be prepared to live a life of witness to the joy that Your gift to all humankind made in me.  Help me to be gentle in all my responses so that those I meet will see YOU and know Your kindness and mercy. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

