Tuesday December 20, 2016 Conceived

Mary responded, “I am the Lord’s servant.  May everything you have said about me come true.”  And then the angel left her.  Luke 1:38

Where would we be if Mary had considered the risks involved with this proposition by the angel and said NO.  St Augustine said that Mary conceived Christ in her heart by faith before she conceived Him in her womb.  If she had not known of the scriptures and believed in angelic appearances, she would have probably said thanks but NO THANKS to this sketchy request.  She would be pregnant out of wedlock, her fiancée would bail and likely she would be stoned which was the custom for dealing with adulteresses.  But instead she said YES!

God presents His people with difficult choices every day.  It is never easy to follow Him when it means going against the crowd and being “different” from everyone else.  Peer pressure can be brutal.  I think the angel sent her to Elizabeth to confirm in her that miracles do happen and she was starting on an amazing journey with God.  She was able to be with Elizabeth,  who was also experiencing the miracle of birth but certainly divine intervention helped her conceive as well.  I know that it is always reassuring to be with like minded people who share life experiences.

Lord I beg You to open my eyes, my heart, my body to conceive in my heart as Mary did so that I am always ready to be a co-creator with You.  Plant in my mind and my body the miracle of grace that will help me say YES! 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

