Tuesday December 13, 2016 Work Orders

A man had two sons, and he came to the first and said, ‘Son, go work today in the vineyard.’  And he answered, ‘I will not’; but afterward he regretted it and went.  The man came to the second and said the same thing; and he answered, ‘I will, sir’; but he did not go. Matthew 21:28-30

I am always convicted by this parable because I have been both sons.  I have denied my parents, friends and family by declining a task that I knew I “Should” do and have reneged and done it and I have come up with an excuse for something that I said I would do.  Jesus asks “Which one of the two did his father’s will?”  It is easy to answer, the first!  They say that the road to HELL is paved with good intentions.  I believe inaction will get me there.  God outlines His will for me and if I choose not to act upon His requests of me, then I am the second son.

I have had a discussion with my teens in Bible Study about this and they say that God is not this clear about what He is calling them to do.  My answer always is that they need to use hearing aids if they are not able to understand what God is calling them to do.  Scripture and Prayer are the best aids around for clarifying purpose.  I do know that God’s work orders may require discernment at times.  A new job offer comes in with more money, but I love my job and feel I am serving God and others… it is easy to know that God’s will is to stay.  My church has a new ministry that meets on the same night my husband and I have our date night, I believe that unless Gary is going to attend with me, I must turn it down.  Discernment is the opening of a door that shines light on the direction my life.  That is another gift from God.

Lord help me accept the work orders that You send into my life.  Help me always discern correctly what is of You and what is of the devil.  May I see clearly how I can serve You and Your people in my most humble deeds. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

