Sunday December 11, 2016 Anxious Hearts

Say to those with anxious heart, “Take courage, fear not.  Behold, your God will come with vengeance;  the recompense of God will come, but He will save you.”  Isaiah 35:4

I seem to be surrounded with people lately with “Anxious Hearts”.  This fall, my husband and two of our friends had heart attacks and this weekend our house guest from MN had one as well.  It is a very scary time because the heart is the most important organ in the body and determines survival.  When there is something wrong there, everything else literally is ignored.  No amount of relief of other symptoms or focus takes away the anxiety when the heart is still a question.  Our houseguest, Tim, has pneumonia, type 1 diabetes and pleural effusion as well which are all serious but the priority has remained his heart.

The heart has been the most important organ in literature too because of the focus on love.  It has been connected with our emotional commitment to those who are significant in our lives.  God being the most significant.  As I look to my own experience when my relationships have been broken… I indeed felt it in my heart.  I have needed God to save me and I wanted Him to do it in a hurry… with a vengeance.  These heart attacks have stopped people that I love in their tracks, they come out of nowhere and make everything stop.  Health matters get our attention like nothing else does.  It is too bad that is what it takes to get us focused on the important stuff.  The trivial and unnecessary seems to stay front and center in our lives until something dramatic reorganizes our priorities.  I wonder often why I can’t keep myself on task.  God must wonder the same…

As Christmas nears Lord, help me to keep my focus on serving You.  Open my eyes to what I can do to sooth anxious hearts and relieve frightened souls.  Bless those struggling with health issues and the ramifications of heart attacks.  Bring each one peace, joy and understanding of what is truly important. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

