Sunday December 4, 2016 Prepare

It was of him that the prophet Isaiah had spoken when he said:  A voice of one crying out in the desert, Prepare the way of the Lord, make straight His paths.  Mathew 3:2-3

When I was in my twenties, there was a small play with two characters used as a sermon on this the second Sunday of Advent.  Santa and John the Baptist were costumed and made their way down the aisle after Father read the Gospel singing their appropriate songs…  John: Prepare Ye the Way of the Lord and Santa belting out Santa Claus is Coming to Town.  It was an interesting and fun way to discuss the season and what it has become for so many.  Santa’s version of shopping and baking, wrapping and decorating against John’s way of preparing hearts and repenting for sins were each touted by the respective advocate.  It hit home with adults and kids alike.   And Santa left singing  Prepare Ye the Way of the Lord and the congregation joined in.  

I wish that the world could share this way of PREPARING.  I love the holidays and embrace my inner elf with my tree and village, my favorite recipes and gifting for those I love.  But I look past the glitter and see much hurt and hunger for true friendships.  I know that God is saddened that Jesus birth is no longer center stage in these days of preparation.  Hearts are not trimmed with light as houses are.  Many are darkened with over spending and greed, fear and loneliness.  He wants to fulfill Tiny Tim’s wish…  “God Bless Us EVERY ONE!”  but there must be a turning to Him in humility asking for forgiveness and a mending of the chasm that is deep and wide for so many.

Lord I am eager to welcome Your new born Son into my home and my heart.  I stand as Your lost child awaiting the Messiah with great expectation.  Help me to prepare so that I am truly ready to have my King and My God come to visit me.  Help me always Prepare the Way of the Lord!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

