Thanksgiving Thursday November 24, 2016 Spreading

For all things are for your sakes, so that the grace which is spreading to more and more people may cause the giving of thanks to abound to the glory of God. 2 Corinthians 4:15

It is so nice that our country takes a day for Thanksgiving.  It is a great day… just food, family and fellowship.  What a concept that I wish could be spread over more days or past the confines of blood relations.  As we say grace and share what we are grateful for… I am hopeful that Pope Francis words would come to life.  “Let us seek the grace of remembrance so as to grow in the spirit of gratitude.  Let us ask ourselves: Are we good at counting our blessings, or have we forgotten them?… Once we come to realize how much God has given us, a life of self-sacrifice, of working for Him and for others, becomes a privileged way of responding to His great love.”

Spreading the GOOD NEWS can be as simple as smiling at a stranger; putting an extra toy in your shopping cart to be donated to TOYS for Tots or packaging up food boxes for those who are homeless.  God’s love is viral, it is spread by contact.  Only I can pass it on.  I love candlelight services when in a dark church, one candle lights another and another so that quickly we are basking in the glow of hundreds of flames, alive in Christ.

Spreading the love is the simplest thing to do but it is not the easiest.  It takes getting outside of myself and becoming aware of what is happening around me.  It requires self-sacrifice and that is never easy!  Saying yes to being a Christian means responding to His love by living for others.  Parents do this for years, always putting the needs of their children ahead of their own.  Can I love a stranger and sacrifice myself like I did for my daughters?  That is what spreading the love of Christ is really all about.

Lord, I am indeed thankful today for Your love.  Give me the grace to spread that love to others.  Help me to live a life of self-sacrifice realizing the privilege of being Your child is part of my blessings.   

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

