Tuesday November 22, 2016 Deceived

And He said, “See to it that you are not deceived; for many will come in My name, saying, ‘I am He,’ and, ‘The time is near.’ Do not go after them.  When you hear of wars and disturbances, do not be terrified; for these things must take place first, but the end does not follow immediately.”  Luke 21:8-9

On this day in 1963, I was in seventh grade and had grown up learning to duck and cover under my desk to protect myself from bomb blasts.  So when teachers in St Ferdinand Catholic School came into my classroom sobbing, I figured the end was near.  The principal, Sr Lucian, announced soon over the loud speaker that President Kennedy had been killed.  The end of my innocence had occurred two Novembers earlier when my own father died.  I could feel the pain of loss for Caroline and John-John.  I did not know about assassinations or the fall of nations, wars, earthquakes, famines or plagues that Luke describes later in this chapter but I did know the loss that a child felt about a beloved parent being taken away too soon.

It was not the end of the world that day.  Nor did the world end on 9/11 but it was definitely changed forever.  If people would only open their eyes and see that the sky is not as blue, but that God is still in His heaven.  It is not for any of us to know the exact time that the judgement will occur.  I believe these catastrophic events happen to remind us that the only security is in Faith and the only thing we can count on is God.  Each morning I read a quote from JFK… “Those who dare to fail miserably can achieve greatly.”  It helps me to realize that even though I make mistakes along the way, I will make a difference if I continue to try.  Giving up in despair or frustration is truly the only failure.

Lord, this world will pass away for me and eventually for all mankind.  You are the way, the truth and the only life.  Help me to live for You!  Help me to never be deceived by the tumult that surrounds me. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

