Tuesday November 15, 2016 Lukewarm

Because you are lukewarm, neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of My mouth.  For you say, ‘I am rich and affluent and have no need of anything’ yet you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiable, poor, blind, and naked.  Revelations 3:16-17

Pretty tough words especially for the people who are doing well in this life.  I can imagine our Pastor saying this in our congregation and the folks in the pews looking blankly saying, certainly he is NOT meaning me!  The same phenomena occurred in Laodicea when Luke addressed these words to them.  People left the WAY because they were confused.

It is really easy to get complacent.  I believe that doing good often robs us from doing great.  Satisfaction is so easy.  The comfort zone that most operate out of never challenges to excellence.  If life never brought us up short with a wall that stopped all forward progress… would I ever change my habits?  Would I ever learn a new way to do something?

The opposite of Love is really NOT hate, it is indifference.  People die with no contact, they wither and dry up.  Babies in orphanages with no one to love on them to old people in nursing homes who are never engaged, both shrivel up and let go of what makes them people.  How can I touch someone’s life today?  I can bring a warm smile, a spark of mischief, or even a hot embrace to Gary…  God made me for passion and life… not for lukewarm to be spit out.  Finding out what lights up the fire in my soul is an important part of God’s call to me.  He asks His people to be more than sheep who follow along agreeing with the status quo.  Righteousness is never easy and is getting harder every day.

Lord, Give me strength to accept Your call and be HOT in the pursuit of righteousness.  Please help me to move out of the lukewarm and into the fire of Your love. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

