Monday November 14, 2016 Mercy

“‘When did we see You ill or in prison, and visit You?’  And the King will say to them in reply, ‘Amen, I say to you, whatever you did for one of these least brothers of mine, you did for me.’” Matthew 25:39-40

I absolutely am blown away every time I read this passage from Matthew.  When Jesus preached these words two thousand years ago, I know the crowd was as in awe as I am today.  The judgement of the goats and sheep, the decision of who is to spend eternity in heaven and who will be cast into hell comes down to mercy… not God’s mercy toward me but my mercy toward others.  Do I think I can stand up to that scrutiny?  Do YOU?

I am blessed with many role models who teach me each and every day what mercy looks like.  Men and women who believe in Christ and these words with such passion that they have given their lives to serving the poor and homeless; those imprisoned by poverty.  Those who have created awareness by starting out providing sandwiches and socks on a street corner or in the woods and now have beds and a lifestyle change for those who seek one.  Young people who have shared their love for reading, their LOVE with other kids and have changed the world.

Today in our country too many people are focused on themselves and what is playing on that radio station (WIIFM) What Is In It FOR ME?  Instead of asking how can I help others, they are asking where is mine?  Jesus gave examples of His power and compassion, curing the blind, giving hearing to the deaf, making the lepers clean and he asks me to do the same.  Not by performing miracles, but by teaching someone to read, I am overcoming blindness.  By turning the other cheek, I am teaching forgiveness; by sharing what I have, I clothe the naked and feed the hungry.  Our country was founded on the Puritan principle…  In God We Trust.  I certainly am praying that sometime soon, I will see those original beliefs alive and well here in the Land of the Free and the Home of the Brave.

Lord help me to embrace MERCY and live the way You would have me live.  Doing for the LEAST what I would have done to myself.  Your will be done in Heaven and on Earth. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

