Sunday October 30, 2016 Speak Lord

The Lord came and stood there, calling out as before, “Samuel, Samuel!”  Then Samuel said, “Speak Lord, for Your servant is listening.”  1 Samuel 3:10

Samuel was very young and his teacher Eli was very old.  As an earlier verse stated In those days, the word of the Lord was rare. 1 Samuel 3:1  So it was no wonder that Eli didn’t realize the first three times that Samuel reported to Eli’s bedside hearing his name being called.  After realizing what was happening, Eli told Samuel what to say when Samuel heard God calling his name again.  “Speak Lord, for Your servant is listening.”  Are exactly the right words to say when God speaks.  So why do I forget to say them myself when I hear God’s voice?

The biggest issue is that I am not listening.  I have no excuse…  I know that God is speaking, often!  Unlike the days when Eli was a prophet… today scripture is easily accessible and God is very active with saints on every street corner reminding me that HIS is the way to everlasting life.  Poor Eli and Samuel had one papyrus scroll kept in the temple so reading God’s word was a rare blessing.  I have it on my phone, in my kindle and in my prayer room.  I can access beautiful psalms on the radio and watch preaching around the clock on TV.  God is everywhere, but my conscience and conscious mind are too often consumed with other matters.  I can test what I hear and feel against bible teachings so easily!

Since Pentecost the Spirit is here to guide and help each of us to hear.  It is important to acknowledge the message and answers God by affirming Him and readily acknowledging that indeed I hear and am ready to obey!   “Speak Lord, for Your servant is listening.” 

Dear God and Father, I am so grateful for the gift of my ears.  Help me to listen attentively for Your call.  Help me to step forward and do what You ask, always. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Sunday October 30, 2016 Speak Lord”


Leave a Reply

