Saturday October 29, 2016 Assembled

I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Wonderful are Your works, And my soul knows it very well.   My frame was not hidden from You, when I was made in secret, and skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth; Your eyes have seen my unformed substance; and in Your book were all written the days that were ordained for me.  Psalm 139:14-16

I attended a Costume Ball last night, I danced and dressed up and laughed and marveled at all the ingenious costumes.  Many were store bought and others were constructed by the creative mind of the person.  A couple were elaborate and had been a combination of both handmade and store bought but the unique flare made them special indeed.

This Psalm reminds me that God put a lot of work into each of His creations.  He created me in my mother’s womb and had known what I would become.  Vision for me not imposed upon my free will but a blueprint that I could color in the lines or go a bit crazy and add my own curlicues and baubles.  God has given me full reign to be who I am called to be.   What a joy and a responsibility.  God knew me before I was born, yet allows me to stumble and fall, to color and decorate my body in any way I see fit.  I am grateful for the opportunity.  Taking charge though is fraught with opportunities to ruin the masterpiece that God began.

I often balk at the blank canvas, that is my life, afraid that I will really mess up.  I am forever seeking guidance on what and whom I should become.  Copying someone else’s creation just never looks right on me.  I must indeed be brave enough to assemble my own traits that will combine into a winning creation.  One that is truly who God has called me to be.

Lord, I know You have created me to be Your child.  Help me to see and attain what You have called for me to be.  I am Your child… ready to be made into the image that You have called me to be.  I am grateful that I can add a dash of color here, a necklace there and maybe even a mask with feathers every once in a while. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

