Tuesday October 18, 2016 Dew

God says, “I will heal their waywardness and love them freely, for my anger has turned away from them.  I will be like dew to Israel.”  Hosea 14:4-5

The book of Hosea has some of my favorite descriptions of how much God loves me.  It beautifully speaks of God’s devotion, patience and desire for my joy and peace.  Today in these verses, Hosea describes God’s love like dew.  What a wonderful picture that conjures.  Dew covers everything… the grass to the rooftops, nothing is missed.  What a wonderful way to think of God’s outpouring of love.  Gentler than rain, softer than breath, DEW is life giving moisture that has no down side.  What is not absorbed quickly disappears when the sun comes up and goes back to where it came.

This makes me want to rise early and soak up the gift that God so freely gives me.  He is present in the stillness and offers me refreshment that only He can give.  Unlike the rain that can drowned out life, dew is gently covering me in grace and nurtures my soul.  The beauty as it glistens on the leaves takes my breath away.  God gives me so many wonderful gifts that are so freely bestowed that they are easily taken for granted.

Help me Lord, to be ever aware of the gifts that You are constantly showering upon me.  Help me to see Your love in everything.  Give me the heart of Hosea and always be seeking You as You are seeking me.  I come back to You with all my heart! 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

