Wednesday October 5, 2016 Sealed

Do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption.  Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice.  Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.  Ephesians 4: 30-32

St Paul in these few verses wrote what it means to be sealed with the Holy Spirit.  Tall order…  When I was a Catechist, I would read this to those who were to be confirmed and challenge them to allow themselves to be SEALED with the Holy Spirit.  Some would think I was crazy but others prayed that the sacrament would be their way to living a new life.

The Sacrament is indeed the beginning of grace.  I would never presume to say that my sinful nature would not choose to be angry or bitter.  God put into my heart when I was confirmed the ability to make good choices.  The essence of joy, love and peace is the root of each of the gifts of the Spirit.  I am grateful for God’s love for me that enables me to even have a hope of being compassionate, forgiving or patient.  As any kind of seal… the protection it offers keeps the good inside and the bad outside.  Cracks or weakness can cause seepage like the caulk around my windows or bathtub.  If I do not take action to protect and reinforce, I will have damage from the outside.  Unlike caulk that can age, the Seal from the Holy Spirit can only be weakened from the inside… the choices I make.  That is the Good News!

Lord help me to always seek to do Your will.  Help me to live under Your protective Seal and embrace the Holy Spirit as Guide and Protector. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

