Monday October 3, 2016 Neighbor

“Which of the three, in your opinion, was neighbor to the robbers victim?”  He answered, “The one who treated him with mercy.”  Jesus said to him, “Go and do likewise.”  Luke 10:36-37

The story of the Good Samaritan is a perennial favorite of mine.  I heard a modern day test that I wonder how in our hurried world most people would pass.  A professor in a Seminary scheduled his class individually to give an oral report on the Good Samaritan.  When his students arrived at the assigned room they saw a note directing them that a classroom change had been needed and they were sent across the entire campus and that they were NOT to be late.  Along the path they were sure to take, a student was lying beaten and bloodied from an attack.  Only one stopped to give aid.  The rest rushed past because they were afraid of being late.  Of course the ones who arrived on time received the failing grade… for actions speak much louder than words.

Today, it is so easy to hurry past those who need us.  Thinking that someone else will give aid or even worse, not thinking anything at all.  Life has gotten so busy with so many distractions that contact with our neighbor is often limited to a casual wave or nod when we meet on the street.  When Jesus was asked by the young scholar… “And who is my neighbor?” Jesus gave the definition with a story.  Who would be my neighbor today?  The homeless man who begs on the corner? The dirty child who steals from the convenience store?  The lonely widow who lives in the apartment down the hall?  The terrorist who bombs the marathon?  How can I show mercy today?  How can I put myself out there to aid someone who is in danger of being swallowed up by poverty, discrimination, or mob mentality?  Mercy is the most genuine gift that anyone can give.  The underlying character of LOVE!

Lord help me to always be aware of those who are hurting.  Whether their pain be physical, mental or spiritual… give me the wisdom and patience to give myself as a balm for their wounds. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Monday October 3, 2016 Neighbor”

  1. Agent X Says:

    I can personally attest to the fact that that story you site here is like the haunted tale of seminaries across the land. I heard it when I was in school, and it haunted me and my classmates. It is a good one. Puts the point in stark perspective, which is a good thing!


Leave a Reply

