Sunday October 2, 2016 Remade

The Lord says “Arise and go down to the potter’s house, and there I will announce My words to you.”  Then I went down to the potter’s house, and there he was, making something on the wheel.  But the vessel that he was making of clay was spoiled in the hand of the potter; so he remade it into another vessel, as it pleased the potter to make. Jeremiah 18:2-4

Jeremiah responded to the Lord and went to the potter’s shop and watched as he took the same clay and remade what he was creating into something completely different.  The message was clear to Jeremiah… the potter creates as He will.  The vessel has no control over what is being made.  Hard lesson to learn for someone as head strong and focused as Jeremiah was.  I can definitely relate.

My husband says I am the most focused person he has ever known.  I have pushed through mountains, swum across raging rivers and hiked thru deserts to accomplish a goal.  When a roadblock appears, I go over, around or through it.  Sometimes, the Lord must really scratch His head.  That was the reason I created a Retreat for reassessing.  I knew I was not the only one who needed a time out to re-examine where I was and what I was doing.  Jeremiah is definitely not the only one who needs to be remade.

I know that God recreates me and it happens easily with my cooperation or hard by reshaping in response to love by 2 x 4, which is the last resort when I am so focused that I miss His clear signs.

Lord I am the clay and You are the Divine Potter.  Open my mind and heart to Your gentle ministrations on the wheel.  Help me be remade into the vessel that You are pleased to make. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

