Monday September 12, 2016 Worthy

The centurion sent friends, saying to Jesus, “Lord, do not trouble Yourself further, for I am not worthy for You to come under my roof; for this reason I did not even consider myself worthy to come to You, but just say the word, and my servant will be healed”.  Luke 7:6-7

Being the centurion was a pretty big deal back in Jesus day.  They were the backbone of the Roman army. The centurions were legionaries and they were clearly noticed because they wore a special helmet, and a more ornate harness of much better quality. They carried a short vine wood staff as a symbol of rank. They worked their way up the ranks as soldiers, and were promoted for their dedication and courage. They were the veteran soldiers who commanded 100 men each, within a legion of 6,000.  They were paid 25-50 times more than a foot soldier.  This man was used to being obeyed and also was responsible to his superiors.  He understood the chain of command.

It is remarkable that his words are repeated around the world at every mass just before Communion.  His humility and clear act of faith continue to motivate and inspire today… two thousand years later.  I am amazed that God welcomes me and allows me to approach His altar and receive Him into my body.  The centurion knew as I do that I am NOT worthy to welcome Jesus into my home!  Yet, Jesus invites me to do so always.  His death made it possible for all of the most undeserving to be welcomed.  Jesus continues to heal, to fulfill and to make the most unclean, acceptable.

Jesus as You say the word to heal my soul…  know that I am standing in humility and awe of Your generous sacrificial love of me when I am but a sinner.

Lord, thank You for loving me and accepting me.  Unworthy indeed to let You in, I am graced by Your loving hand each and every day! 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

