Thursday September 1, 2016 Prayed

 Then Isaiah the son of Amoz sent word to Hezekiah, saying, “Thus says the Lord, the God of Israel, ‘Because you have prayed to Me about Sennacherib king of Assyria… ‘  Isaiah 37:21

Hezekiah was in a bad way.  The king of Assyria was approaching his gates.  Every nation had fallen to Assyria and this King basically sent a letter saying, surrender and he proceeded to list all the peoples and gods that he had defeated handily.  Hezekiah took this letter into the temple and prayed to God asking if Jerusalem would also become another on Assyria’s lists of conquests or would GOD help.

Hezekiah was contacted by Isaiah the Prophet with the words that Jerusalem would be saved because “You have prayed!”   God asks me to pray about the mundane and the extraordinary.  He invites me to bring everything before Him.  He may answer YES, NO, or Not NOW but He will answer.  He loves that I trust Him and depend upon Him.  No one else can deliver me.  No one else can intervene and put wrongs to right.

God wants to hear from me.  Not just my laundry list of requests or my extensive list of frustrations or regrets.  He is like any parent, He enjoys hearing the sound of my voice.  What made me happy, How much I enjoy His beautiful sunset or the flowers that are blooming on the bushes as I walk the dog.  Those conversations are prayer too.  My husband marvels that I can talk with my daughters for hours on end.  The stuff we share is inconsequential in the grand scheme of things but hearing their voice is the delight of my life.

Lord let me always seek You in Prayer.  You are the Light of my life and the comfort for my soul.  Hear me always ‘Because I prayed” with fervor and love. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

