Wednesday August 31, 2016 Just Being

So when they had finished breakfast, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of John, do you love Me more than these?” He said to Him, “Yes, Lord; You know that I love You.” He said to him, “Tend My lambs.”  John 21:15

Peter was delighted that the Lord was risen and was there with him having breakfast on the beach.  Just like old times… when Jesus pulled him aside and asked him three times…  DO YOU LOVE ME?  Many have suggested the three times was because Peter had denied Jesus three times on the night Jesus was captured.  Peter was definitely convicted by these words as anyone would be who truly had a relationship.

If someone asked me “Do you love me?” it would be a momentous question indeed.  There is a confidence that is required to even pose this question to someone.  There is always the danger of hearing “NO”.  My mom always said never to ask a question unless you can handle the answer!  Jesus knew that Peter believed that he loved Jesus.  I think that Jesus needed for Peter to own it after his betrayal.  Jesus was aware of the trials that lay ahead and if Peter was timid or doubted… there needed to be a new sheriff in town.

Father, I believe I need to BE before I can DO.  Then I must DO before I can have.  Lord, Help me always be grounded in Your love, allowing You to be the focus of my life and my destiny always.  This passion will allow me to do what needs to be done so that I can have eternal life with YOU. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

