Sunday August 28, 2016 Humbling

In love He predestined us to adoption as sons through Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the kind intention of His will,  to the praise of the glory of His grace, which He freely bestowed on us in the Beloved.  In Him we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of His grace  which He lavished on us. In all wisdom and insight  Ephesians 1:5-8

It is hard to conceive a God who knows me and has given a second thought about me when I contemplate how many people cover this planet at any given moment.  That God called me from my mother’s womb, predestined to be His follower.  As a child, I often lay in bed at night and thought, why am I so lucky to have a warm bed, food on the table and a family who loves me.  Why indeed was I born now instead of in the middle ages when children were chattel.  The nuns did a good job explaining that there were many who were dying of hunger in Calcutta or in Haiti.

St Paul wrote to his churches to help them realize how blessed they were to have been called to follow The Way.  It is remarkable that they gave thanks when they were persecuted and were grateful to be found worthy to die because they were found “GUILTY” of being Christians.  I often asked my teens during Confirmation Prep or Bible Study if there was enough evidence to convict them of being a Follower of Jesus Christ.  I ask myself everyday… the same question.

God, I am astonished that You predestined me to be your daughter through the sacrifice of Your own Son.  I truly am grateful for the gifts in my life and am even more grateful for the opportunities that You provide me with to show You my love and devotion through trial and tribulation.  You give me so much.  I am truly humbled. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

