Wednesday August 24, 2016 Backward

Surely our griefs He Himself bore, And our sorrows He carried;  Yet we ourselves esteemed Him stricken, Smitten of God, and afflicted.  But He was pierced through for our transgressions, He was crushed for our iniquities; The chastening for our well-being fell upon Him, And by His scourging we are healed. Isaiah 53:4-5

When Isaiah pronounced his prophetic words hundreds of years before Christ would be born, people were certainly confused.  Isaiah prophesied during a period of approximately fifty years (ca. 739-690 B.C.).  The kings and Pharisees had to wonder what he was talking about.  No king wanted to hear or be thought that he would be a suffering servant.  They were pampered and doted upon and certainly wanted it to stay that way so Isaiah probably wasn’t too popular.

In light of prophecy, I think it only makes sense backward.  Isaiah spoke in his day and no one understood or could readily accept what he was saying.  So like my own life.  When I have undergone strain, disappointment and losses, I could never understand them when I was going through it.  It is only in hindsight that true perspective can be achieved.  Then I can see that I didn’t get that promotion because a better job lay around another corner.  I understand why my father died early so that my mom would remarry and my family would grow to 9 siblings from 5.  Life is lived going forward but is only ever understood looking backward.  I am no prophetess but I have come to realize that there are people living who are able to see God’s plans more clearly.  One of the men in my bible study in MN told me that moving to FL would be an opportunity for God to use me.  As I look back… he was right.

Lord, I know I don’t understand nor should I hope to know Your plans in this life but I am grateful that You let me glimpse Your hand when I gaze backward.  Help me to trust You to lead me where I am supposed to go and quit second guessing YOU! 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

