Monday August 15, 2016 Legacy

A good name is more desirable than great riches; to be esteemed is better than silver or gold.  Proverbs 22:1

In the midst of elections in our country, a good name is truly the mark of a precious few.  Mudslinging by opponents tarnishes and blackens the name and the nature of each person in the political arena whether it is founded in reality or not.  The standard with which you measure will be the standard by which you are measured, my mom used to say.  It is hard to believe anything you read or hear because there is so much that is taken out of context.

Proverbs is filled with words of wisdom and truth.  Chapter 22 seems to be written literally for political times…  Whoever sows injustice reaps calamity 22:8   Drive out the mocker and out goes strife 22:10… One who loves a pure heart and who speaks with grace will have the king for a friend… 22:11

I believe that Legacy is an important piece of living each day.  For I will sow what I reap.  If I slander someone, then I will be slandered.  If I am not generous then I will be treated with selfishness.  Having a clear conscience takes precedence over having many riches, I could never lie to achieve!  There are many things that I do in the course of a day to help others that I view as part of my life’s work.  With not a second thought or hesitation, I look for ways to serve others because I have been served.  God calls me to grow in that service and sacrifice so that His will be done on earth.  His legacy is the best reward always.

Lord help me to be Your faithful servant.  Help me to pursue a life that is pleasing to You and always honors Your name.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

