Wednesday July 27, 2016 Doors

Behold, I have left an open door before you, which no one can close.  Revelation 3:8

I have been stubborn and kept beating on a door which remained closed.  I just knew it was the right way for me to go.  Years later as I have looked back on my life, I have seen that this verse has the truth of life encapsulated in 14 words.  God opens the door that He wants me to go through.  There is no magic key, there is no long line, there is no deadbolt and there is certainly NOT any reason for me to keep knocking.

Unlike the door in the story of the friend in need of bread who knocked and persistence won the day, the doors that I have beat on… had no one home to open them.  Emptiness and loneliness lay behind the door.  When there was NO sign of life, I needed to keep moving.  That is hard to do sometimes, when I am “positive” this is what God is calling me to do.

It is hard to admit that I am wrong about a person or a decision.  I don’t ever want to look stupid.  Admitting that my judgement was lacking is harder than almost anything else for me.  I like to be right, is an understatement.  So I hate to admit the door that I have chosen to walk through is the wrong one.  But through prayer and discernment, my eyes have eventually been opened to God’s promises.  I am blessed because of NO and the realization that “There is one body and one Spirit, just as you were called to one hope when you were called; one Lord, one faith, one baptism; one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all.  Ephesians 4:4-6

There is ONE Door.

Lord help me to have the courage to admit that there is no future for me at the locked door and keep moving.  Open my eyes and my heart to be in tune with Your direction to the place that I am called to be, do and serve You!     

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

