Sunday July 24, 2016 Persistent

Abraham spoke up again: “See how I am presuming to speak to my Lord, though I am but dust and ashes.”  Genesis 18:27

Never Give UP!  Our Lord told his disciples after teaching them the Lord’s prayer.  He used an example of a neighbor in need of bread who was denied with excuses like the door is locked, the kids are asleep… but persistence wins the day.

 I tell you, even though he will not get up and give him anything because he is his friend, yet because of his persistence he will get up and give him as much as he needs.  “So I say to you, ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks, receives; and he who seeks, finds; and to him who knocks, it will be opened. Luke 11:8-10

In the case of Abraham, he bargains with God to save Sodom and Gomorrah.  God plans on destroying these cities because they are so sinful.  Abraham starts with asking God to spare the cities if there were 50 good people… and gets all the way to 10 to halt the slaughter.  The amazing thing was that Abraham KNEW he was not worthy to bargain with God and stated the same, often.  But it did not stop him from persisting in his requests to spare the cities.

Like Abraham, I am so unworthy and yet I persist in coming before the Lord.  I pray for God’s blessing for my children and grandchildren, for my marriage and my friends, for the sorry state of the world with global massacres and abundance of fear.  God listens and answers because HE is God.  Not because my prayers deserve an answer.

I am encouraged by Scripture to keep asking and I will.  For God is my Father and He has promised that He will listen especially when I am persistent.  Lord You are God through good times and bad, that You for hearing my prayers. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

