Wednesday July 20, 2016 Promises

Through His holy prophets He promised of old that He would save us from our enemies, from the hands of all who hate us.  Luke 1:70

Though the mountains leave their place and the hills be shaken, my love shall never leave you nor my covenant of peace be shaken, says the Lord, who has mercy on you.  Isaiah 54:10

Throughout scripture there are promises that God will remain faithful even though the world may crumble around me.  It is reassurance in the most trying of times.  I cannot open the bible anywhere that I will not find the message of hope being shared with me.  How can I doubt that God knows my name and is actively protecting me with these promises so lavishly spread from cover to cover of His holy word?

God promised David that His house would last forever.  Jesus fulfilled that promise and not only David’s people were blessed but the gentiles as well.  The Lord was and is the fulfillment of every promise.

God is faithful indeed.  He has kept His covenant throughout history with no rancor towards the sinfulness that keeps drawing His people away.  He forgives with a magnanimous heart and opens the gates to receive those who seek Him with a contrite spirit no matter their sinfulness.  This is the promise that I cling to and the hope that I embrace.

Lord, Thank YOU for opening the gate through Your excruciating sacrifice on my behalf.  I can never know the pain and suffering that You endured to repair the relationship and fulfill the promises that were made.  Your sacrifice has made my life a fulfillment of the promise!  My spirit rejoices in You my savior. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

