Tuesday July 12, 2016 Circuitous Route

When Pharaoh let the people go, God did not lead them on the road through the Philistine country, though that was the shorter.  For God said, “If they face war, they might change their minds and return to Egypt.”  Exodus 13:17

There have been many desert moments in my life… and very often I would ask God, “WHY am I stuck in this dreadful journey… Isn’t there an easier way?”  He knows as He knew with the Israelites just how much I can handle and He leads me upon the route that will bring me home providing for me the manna and water I need to survive.

The Israelites had many lessons to learn in the desert.  To trust God was the biggest one.  As I look back at my own desert experiences I can see the lessons that I too needed to incorporate into my life.  TRUST is a huge one for me as well and I am still struggling with that one.  Faith also keeps surfacing to the top when I question whether He really is leading me HERE!  It is always hard to accept that God’s will may not be my own.  The Israelites had God leading them by a pillar of fire at night and a pillar of cloud by day.  They could see God’s presence and feel confident that this was the way He wanted them to go.  That assurance and they still grumbled and balked at His clear direction.  I cut myself some slack when I realize that I am certainly not the first person to get lost along the way.

Circuitous route, not withstanding, I make progress only when I keep my eye on Jesus.

Lord help me to stay focused on You.  When I let You lead me, then and only then will I find my way to heaven.  Just like the Israelites, I grumble and wish to have an easier way but I know that You provide my constant care.  I need only to put my faith in You! 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

