Monday July 11, 2016 Contentment

I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty.  I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  Philippians 4:12

It is probably not remarkable that St Paul wrote these words but what I find incredible is that he wrote them from a Roman prison.  It is indeed a challenge for me to be content as I have never undergone anything like what St Paul endured.  I have experienced need and plenty, but I can’t say I was content in either circumstance.  When in need, I would be anxious about where the next dollar would come from and when in plenty I would be anxious about where the next $100 would come from.

God has taught me a good lesson that worry does not change anything.  It only adds more stress to what can already be a stressful situation.  To keep an even keel, is to learn to appreciate and be grateful for the morsel instead of wishing it were a whole loaf.  In gratitude is the essence of contentment.  Not one of us who is grateful can be anxious at the same time.  It is impossible to be angry when grateful or even a little bit jealous.  Gratitude is an all-consuming feeling and the outcome every time is Contentment.

When I start to get myself in knots, or find I am clenching my hands or my teeth… I think of something that I am grateful for.  It does not have to be a big thing, maybe that my car is air conditioned (which in FL is a big thing) or that I have hair even if I am having a bad hair day.  There are so many things that I can be grateful for that I could spend hours listing them.  So they become my key to open the door to contentment… God is in His heaven and all is RIGHT with His world.  Our troubled times with mass murders and unrest over police brutality and retribution bring me to my knees to ask God that each individual might find something to be grateful for today.  That hatred would be replaced by contentment and a heart to make changes peacefully.

Lord, You are the giver of all good gifts, Help me to be able to bring light to darkness… even if it is a match in a monsoon at midnight.  Let my gratitude be contagious and your contentment fill the hearts of Your faithful. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

