Wednesday July 6, 2016 Well I NEVER!

Jesus summoned His twelve disciples and gave them authority over unclean spirits to drive them out and to cure every disease and every illness.  Matthew 10:1

I have read and studied the Book of Matthew countless times in my life and as I read this verse this morning it hit me like a TON of bricks!!!  Judas was given the keys to the kingdom.  He was endowed just like the rest of them with the powers to heal and evangelize.  I guess I thought he was a fringe guy.  I knew he kept the money and figured he was not that involved with Jesus ministry….  BUT no!  It says right here, Jesus sent him out to cure and call.

I keep asking myself… How can someone so graced fall?  Then I remember that humanity is weak and prone to sinfulness.  Judas was selfish and wanted Jesus to be someone who He was not…a political leader.  He liked the finer things and was okay with taking them.  How easy it is for even the well-intentioned to lose their way???

This verse and the ones following where Matthew lists the disciples, their heritage and discerning traits… Simon called Peter and his brother Andrew; James the son of Zebedee and his brother John; …Matthew the tax collector; James the son of Alphaeus; …Simon the Cananean; and finally Judas Iscariot who betrayed Jesus.  There can be no doubt that Matthew identified all of them as being SENT.  I just never caught that Jesus sent Judas and His final words were:  As you go, make this proclamation: “The Kingdom of heaven is at hand.”    

Is there hope for me when Judas who was so blessed… fell so far?

YES, because of something that Beth More wrote that I read every day!

  1. God is who He says He is.
  2. God can do what He says He can do.
  3. I am who God says I am.
  4. I can do all things through Christ.
  5. God’s word is alive and active in me.

Lord I believe You can and will save me from myself.  I TRUST in You to bring me back from my selfish desires and weaknesses.  Forgive my unbelief!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

