Tuesday July 5, 2016 Alongside

When Moses hands grew tired, they took a stone and put it under him and he say on it.  Aaron and Hur held his hands up – one on one side, one on the other- so that his hands remained steady till sunset.  Exodus 17:12

It is important to realize that I don’t go through this life alone.  There always seems to be someone who comes alongside and gives me a hand or two.  I can’t express my gratitude for the seemingly endless parade of people who have steadied my hands during this battle of life.  If I started to name them all, now that I am at the ripe old age of 65, the names would fill many ledger books.  Which translates to many debts that I can never repay.  But a very kind man gave me a good lesson about that.

Gary often had other consultants working alongside him in his career in technology.  He invited one such man to join us for dinner who had been on a project away from his family for 2 months.  As he sat down to our humble but home cooked meal he shared a story.  His wife also prepared meals for his friends and consultant coworkers back home.  One such gentleman had sat down and asked if he could say the blessing.  The guest eloquently said how much this opportunity to break bread with strangers meant to him and how he would return the favor in their honor because he was unable to give back to them their hospitality, He would come alongside someone else who was lonely and do the same.   The story touched Gary and I and we made a habit then of inviting the road warriors to dinner whenever we could.  Soon Gary became a road warrior himself and the friendships that he made with other technical trainers and consultants have lasted because of that lesson to come alongside.

When I need help… it can come from some very unusual places.  I am often unable to repay whomever assists me but paying it forward is always possible.  There is always someone who has a need I can fill.

Lord Thank YOU for coming alongside me, sometimes in the form of a complete stranger to help me achieve what You have tasked me with this day.  Help me always look for ways to serve as You would have me serve.  Lending a hand will save their day and win the battle against an oppressive or lonely world. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

