Thursday June 30, 2016 Borrowed

The earth is the Lord’s and everything in it.  The world and all its people belong to Him.  Psalm 24:1

I once loaned my car to an elderly friend for a few weeks.  When I received the car back, it was in MUCH better shape than when I had loaned it to him.  Clean both inside and out, the oil had been changed and the gas tank was full.  I was amazed and grateful and of course told him that was not necessary.  He just smiled and said, “I always hope that I leave things better than I found them.”

I have reflected often on that situation and have tried to incorporate this philosophy into my life in every situation.  One that recently came rushing into my radar is the earth.  Ever since I became a grandmother, I have been acutely aware of the importance of recycling and decreasing my carbon footprint.  I try and use the least amount of energy and fossil fuel that I can and educate people where possible to do the same.  If people would adopt my friend’s philosophy what would our world be like?

There are islands of plastic bottles in the oceans that are miles wide.  The effects of global warming are becoming quite pervasive and can no longer be denied.  People throw up their hands and say the problem is too big for one person to make a difference but God gave us this planet and if each of us would leave it better than we found it… true and lasting change would become a reality!

Lord help me embrace what I can do to make my world a better place.  In the lives of those I meet, in the tiny piece of the planet that I control, in the attitude that I have toward all You have loaned to me.  I am grateful for each and every clean breath of air that I breathe and for the clean and safe water I drink.  You are a generous God… help me to always remember this and be grateful. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

