Wednesday June 29, 2016 Golden Rule

 “In everything, therefore, treat people the same way you want them to treat you, for this is the Law and the Prophets.  Matthew 7:12

I saw the flashing lights in my rear view mirror and pulled over to the side of the road.  I had no idea what I had done wrong because I was deep in thought about a multitude of other things besides driving.  The officer promptly told me that I was doing 36 in the 25 MPH zone.  He took my license as I sat and prayed that he would be lenient.  He came back with a ticket in his hands and my heart sank.  He told me that 11 over is a $206 fine and I choked back the tears.  With weddings and graduation travel this summer, this was certainly NOT in the budget.  As he handed me the piece of paper, he said it was a warning but if I was ever caught speeding again, I would be fined.

I drove away, tears of gratitude streaming down my face.  I thought how graciously I was blessed and how very much I appreciated the kindness.  When I read this verse today it reminded me how very often God forgives me and issues a Warning.  He allows me to go with no fine or punishment!  With only the admonishment to go and sin no more.  Now I ask myself how often do I treat others with the same forgiveness?  In everything!!! God says to treat others as I wish to be treated.  I stand reminded to turn the other cheek.  I stand reminded to forgive and welcome those who have hurt me back into my arms just as God has done so very often for me.

God I am so grateful for your forbearance and forgiveness.  Thank you for the unique opportunities You give me to also forgive.  Help me to treat everyone the way they want to be treated. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

