Thursday June 23, 2016 Dismayed

Do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.       Isaiah 41:10

Overcoming fear and frustration is hard to do, by myself.  I can remember being frightened as the oldest when my mom would leave me in charge of my younger siblings.  I would never let on that I was afraid in front of them, but after they were in bed and the house was quiet… my heart would race with what ifs.  I think my prayer life started then.  I didn’t know about scriptural promises like this one but had seen and heard my parents often enough to know they trusted God.

The being Dismayed part came later.  When I was not able to accomplish a goal or complete a task that I had set for myself.  I relied only on myself and as I have learned that is not how life works.  God lives and moves and has His being in me.  I need to connect with His plans for me and that is when the stars align and the road gets much smoother.  I can stubbornly pursue the path I want but it is never going to bring me to freedom.  It leads to dark alleys and brick walls.  Easy to see why I was dismayed, disappointed and depressed.

My life has meaning and I am more effective when I am open to God’s righteousness.  His light brings me out of the dark places and His strength lifts and guides me out of the chasms that I fall into when I get off the road that He would have me walk.

God I know that You love me and want to help me along the way with Your righteous right hand.  Give me the courage to trust and grasp that hand and hold tightly to you.  You are the way, the truth and the light.    

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

