Monday June 13, 2016 Orlando Mourns

Give ear to my words, O Lord,
Consider my groaning.
 Heed the sound of my cry for help, my King and my God,
For to You I pray.
In the morning, O Lord, You will hear my voice;
In the morning I will order my prayer to You and eagerly watch.

For You are not a God who takes pleasure in wickedness;
No evil dwells with You.
The boastful shall not stand before Your eyes;
You hate all who do iniquity.
You destroy those who speak falsehood;
The Lord abhors the man of bloodshed and deceit.
But as for me, by Your abundant lovingkindness I will enter Your house,
At Your holy temple I will bow in reverence for You. 

O Lord, lead me in Your righteousness because of my foes;
Make Your way straight before me.

Psalm 5:1-8

“O” Town as it is fondly referred to by its residents, mourns.  Mourning the loss of life, the loss of love and the loss of innocence.  Residents stood for hours in the heat and rain to donate blood because the need was so great in the crisis surgical center.  Restaurants and citizens brought food, water and ice to keep those in line able to persevere.  Churches prayed and people mobilized to assist those who were waiting for answers.

I pray that the evil that exists in this world will not overcome those who want to serve and love You.  Evil has been with us since the fall of Eden and will persist until You return and make the New Jerusalem a reality.  Until that time, keep me attentive and able to do what You have called me to be, to do and to say.  Help me to love my enemies and turn the other cheek.  Help me to practice patience and understanding when I am totally confused by actions so foreign to my way of thinking.  I beg you to be with those who mourn the loss of a loved one.  Give every person the grace to be a source of support for those who need a shoulder to lean upon.  Make my community stronger through this tragedy.  Shelter us Lord in the shadow of Your wings!    

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

