Friday June 10, 2016 Whisper

After the fire a sound of a gentle whisper.  When Elijah heard it, he wrapped his face in his mantle and went out and stood in the entrance of the cave. And behold, a voice came to him and said, “What are you doing here, Elijah?” 1 Kings 19:12-13

Elijah was running for his life and hid on a mountain because all the other Prophets had been killed by the rebellious Israelites who had forsaken the covenant with God.  Elijah was looking for direction and assurances.  Before the Lord came a fierce wind, then an earthquake and then fire, but Elijah knew that God was not in those immense powers…  but God came in the quiet whisper and asked a question.  I know that God has come to ask me questions in the quiet.  His whispered questions can only be heard when I surround myself with silence!  There is plenty of big wind and hot air blowing about especially in an election year.  There is so much earth splitting and rocks falling when I try to navigate the business and social life by being honest and steadfast.  The terrain literally shakes my resolve.  The heat of the moment when temptation to do the highs of sexual promiscuity, alcohol or recreational drugs in addition to any of the worlds additional temptations are all around.  God is NOT in any of these things.  God is in the whisper!  He asks me what I am doing and why do I come into His presence.

I come for peace, I come for direction, I come to crawl into His lap and be rocked and assured that everything will be all right!  I am certainly NOT the last prophet, like poor Elijah, left alive in the world.  I am but a lowly servant of God who seeks to do His will.  But I know like Elijah, I need to hear that whispered voice who promises me that everything that will happen is in HIS plan.  Elijah was assured that God’s people would come to their senses and respect the covenant.  That promise gave Elijah the courage to go on.   He anointed two kings and was able to train his successor.  Elijah had faith and was emboldened by God’s whispered words to him and He went on to help make it all come about just as God promised.

Lord give me the faith and courage to stand through the wind, earthquakes and fires in my life and stand ready when You speak to me in the WHISPER!  Help me to always trust in You! 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

