Wednesday December 9, 2015 Received

Just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in Him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness. Colossians 2:6-7

It is easy to forget during holiday preparations that Christ is the REASON for the Season Whether it shopping, decorating, baking or wrapping… so much to do can be distracting from Prayer and focusing on Christ as baby, Lord or Savior. Jesus is the gift and it is crucial that I bask in that knowledge to live these busy days of December focused on Him instead of my ever growing to do list.

I readily admit, I am not a good receiver. I stumble over my words and say “You shouldn’t have” instead of just being thankful. God gives me a chance to practice my acceptance speech for Jesus is the greatest gift of all. Recalling the first time I really KNEW that Jesus was my Savior and reflecting on that moment teaches me anew how to be genuinely grateful. I was overwhelmed by the immense love that I felt rolled up in forgiveness, welcome and blessing. When I can focus on that day, it is much easier to put all things into perspective.

When I ask myself and those who I love, instead of what do you want for Christmas, what are you most grateful for this year… it helps me to really keep Christ in Christmas. Being overflowing with Thankfulness is the best state to live out December and really the whole year through. God blesses me by continuing to be a real presence in the world even when terrorist abound, earthquakes and hurricanes wreak devastation. In the midst of all these things, God’s people are still being strengthened and receiving HIS grace.

Lord, I am so grateful for all that I have received. Open my eyes and my heart each day to witness the generous outpouring of Your love.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

