Monday August 24, 2015 Seasons

Even in old age they will still produce fruit; they will remain vital and green. They will declare, “The Lord is just! He is my rock! There is no evil in Him!” Psalm 92:14-15
I read a startling statistic, an average of TEN Thousand people will turn 65 every day for the next twenty years. Baby Boomers we are called. I am convinced now that as I approach that number myself that people are aging much better. When I look back on my parents and grandparents, they seemed OLD and much more tired at my age (if they lived this long). Advertising tells us that 60 is the NEW 40 and I believe it. I believe that I and my counterparts have much more to contribute to society, bearing fruit well into my eighties and maybe even longer. These words were written FOUR thousand years ago. I think that each generation ever since has been inspired and believes that into each season there is much to give, it is just that the numbers were much smaller.
As the average life spans continues to lengthen, it is only right to want to be productive and vital! Life is much more fun and worth living when it is filled with creation and an ability to share myself and my talents. I believe God is calling me to new and different challenges, exciting opportunities to serve Him each day. I may not get them accomplished as quickly as I once did but that really does not matter. What I bring in expertise can offset what I lack in speed.
I ask myself often, to what is God asking me to give birth… Sometimes I think it is important to step back and reevaluate what occupies my mind and heart and see if it still fits who I am. Just like clothing that gets to snug or loose as my body changes, it is important to take a look at how my mind, actions, work and relationships still serve me. REBOOT myself, as it were. Reinvention prepares me for the next phase or season of my life. God is my rock! He gives me substance and direction. What is He calling me to be 65, 75 or 85? I am like a fine old apple tree who still has much fruit to yield. Maybe I will graft a Cinnamon bush to make a new flavor but I can still produce great apples.
Thank You Father, for giving me the desire to be all You created me to be. Help me to recognize the NEW paths that You are calling me to walk, all be it more slowly, in service to You.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

