Sunday August 23, 2015 Convinced

Simon Peter answered Him, “Master, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. We have come to believe and are convinced that YOU are the Holy One of God.” John 6:68-69
The disciples were deserting right and left after Jesus told them they needed to eat His flesh and drink His blood. They had no ability to get past the old Law which told them that they were NOT to drink the blood of sacrifices and could not even HEAR what Jesus was saying. Jesus had performed miracle upon miracle before their eyes but these people could not get past this key issue. The Apostles on the other hand, KNEW in their minds and their hearts that Jesus was the Son of God. Who else could He be? It was not hard for them then to stay… Their conviction fueled them to remain true to the MAN who had called them away from fishing boats and tax collection tables. He was the alpha and omega.

Jesus asks me today, Do you also want to leave? When I am feeling like Job… persecuted and broken, I can hear His question. When I am tempted by the shiny objects that present themselves… money, fame, pleasure; I can hear His question. When my family needs things that I cannot supply… I can hear His question. It is hard to stay CONVINCED when the world presses in. But Peter had it right… To WHOM shall we go?

Throughout the Scriptures, there are a few people have stood by their convictions… Joseph rolled with the flow and continued to believe even when His brothers sold him, Potiphar’s wife lied, his cellmate didn’t follow up on his promise… Joseph was convinced that God had not forgotten him. Job, of course, Abraham and Moses never lost their faith that God was the ONLY one! There are countless examples but the issue comes down to my own conviction… Do I believe? Can I accept God’s will for my life? Will I choose life?  Am I truly convinced and convicted enough to stay the course and BELIEVE when the going gets tough or there is a situation beyond my ability to reason?

As for me and my household, we will serve the Lord. Joshua 24:15 Let this be my constant prayer!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Sunday August 23, 2015 Convinced”

  1. Candy Says:

    Amen! An inspiring beautiful piece again


Leave a comment