Thursday July 30, 2015 Family Matters

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is gracious, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. Philippians 4:8

I am blessed with a big family… Nine of us, in fact. Gathering together for special occasions and reunions is a treat that reminds each of us of the parents who formed their union to unite this crazy group of yours, mine and ours. When I read this verse this morning it brought to mind the teachings of those parents and the upbringing I shared with our big family. Whatever is true: lying was NOT allowed in our home. Strictly enforced and monitored by one another.  Whatever is honorable: Mom always said that we should NEVER do or say anything that she would not be pleased to know about. Chances were good she would hear back from friends so we needed to figure she would.  Whatever is just: mom was smart when it came to desserts, one would cut and the others would get to pick theirs FIRST… you could be sure that each piece was exactly the same size. Whatever is pure: When my stepfather married my mom, a widow with FIVE children, his love was easy to see. That kind of pure motives is rare and was an example that each of us embraced. Whatever is lovely: There were as you can imagine with nine kids, some craziness around the house… even meals could be hectic but there was always music and joy. An appreciation for the finer things was instilled early and often. Whatever is gracious: Fights were inevitable at home and tolerated but once outside the front door, each of us knew support was close by if needed… it continues to this day. Excellence: was expected and no one was allowed to rest on laurels from last year or last week. Worthy of praise: celebrations of achievements were common in our family. Whether it was Soccer game wins, college graduations or new babies, a celebration occurred. Life needs to be celebrated.
I am blessed with good memories and am hoping that my own daughters and their children will feel this verse is a good family motto. It has served me well and each time I reflect on my family values, I smile that God blessed me with siblings that allow me to be graced by their presence and inspire me to this day by their actions of pure love.
Lord watch over my family and help each of them to see and embrace You. It is only through Your grace that each of Your children live and move and have our being. Continue to give grace for the journey home to You!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Thursday July 30, 2015 Family Matters”

  1. Candy Says:

    That was beautiful and very telepathic as I just sat down to use that same scripture to write a similar blog

  2. bgovanus Says:

    Yes the Holy Spirit seems to do that often. I get feedback from friends all over the world who tell me the same thing! Scripture connects across time and space.


Leave a Reply

