Tuesday February 10, 2015 Cancer

A peaceful heart leads to a healthy body; jealousy is like cancer in the bones. Proverbs 14:30
I don’t remember ever hearing the word “cancer” when I was growing up in the fifties. Even as a young adult, I don’t recall it being one of the leading causes of death. It seems like it has only been in the last 25 years that it has dominated the medical scene. So I was shocked this morning in my prayer time to come across this verse from Proverbs that includes a reference to the big “C”.
Apparently Cancer has been around for thousands of years. Or maybe the word used here does not relate to the dreaded disease that even at the mention of it, a pall comes over me. No I think it is indeed the same… for I know the effects of jealousy and it definitely eats away at me and makes me very sick indeed.
When I lose sight of loving someone and jealousy fills me, my body is filled with bile, anger and frustration. I can no longer see beauty because my vision is clouded with green that blocks everything else. The ugly serpent “jealousy” grabs hold of my soul and strangles the positive right out of me. I have no peace. I have no joy.
Cancer is a mutation of healthy cells. So is jealousy. When I lose perspective about my life and spend my time and energy lusting after what another has or is, my entire soul is mutated. If I allow this mutation to fester and grow, I can become an empty shell that easily crumbles. Not healthy indeed.
Lord help me find joy in the successes and the triumphs of others. Give me a peaceful heart so I am always ready to praise You and give You all the thanksgiving You deserve for Your bountiful gifts to me. Let my body and my soul be a peaceful place where love grows.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

