Wednesday October 29, 2014 Rewritten

If anyone takes away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God will take away his share in the tree of life and in the holy city, which are described in this book.  Revelations 22:19

For centuries, Catholics did not read the bible and I think that this verse may have held back those who may have had the desire and ability to read and interpret the words God spoke to His people through the bible writers. I have often disagreed with preachers or authors who have put a different spin on a beloved verse.  I believe that God inspires and it is important to be open to that inspiration, no matter who delivers it.  Having played the game “Telephone” as a girl when one person whispers something to the person sitting next to him in a circle.  As the message is repeated, the distortion of what was originally spoken is often incredible.  That is just in the course of 10 or 15 people hearing and repeating.  What are the possibilities when you are talking millions of ears and thousands of years?

St Paul warned Titus about the same chance for misinterpretation of the authentic message in his letter… Titus 1:11; 14.  In this case, the interpretation was frightening families with irresponsible and errant messages.  God speaks to the heart.  If that heart is broken, the word planted there will help to mend it.  If that heart is shallow, God’s word will add substance and allow grace to take root and blossom.

All I can do is be open to the words of the book and let them speak to me. I must never frighten or confuse others as my immortal soul hangs in the balance. If I always remember that I ask questions and God provides the answers… I will be fine.  I do not have the answers, only God provides the words that bring peace and life!

Lord help me to always seek guidance from Your holy Book. Give me the courage to read and be inspired by Your gracious gift.  I want to live in the Holy City with You for all eternity! 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment